film school help

S

sweetspicydiva

hello all,
I am a film student living in ms. I took a year off to transfer but i am having trouble. I wanted to go to full sail but found it was too much for my pockets. I dont have much money plus the job market in mississippi isnt so well right now. I am looking at other schools now, like miami-dade, north carolina school of the arts, minneapolis technical and community college, and minneapolis school of art and design. I was wondering if someone could give me advice on education at these school and if it would be wise to go to a community college? I am 20 so i feel kinda old, I am not up for taking classes i dont need, I really just want to get my major so that I can work on my career. Also does anyone have advise on scholarships for film students that arent already in school. In most, I find that you already have to be enrolled. Also, if anyone knows of how I can get financial aid for housing if I go to school that doesn have dorms? Any advice would be helpful.

In my very limited and almost non-existant experiences, theres only one problem with community colleges....transfer schools don't like them. I've noticed a pattern in alot of schools that very few transer students are accepted each year and that preference is given to area community colleges for those that are accepted. Like for UCLA, they are more likely to accept a person from a California community college. Here, I'd have a better shot at Northwestern than the out-of-staters. (although my shot at NU at all is pretty slim :lol: )

I got a BA in English Lit at UCLA because I couldn't get into their film program, then took four years off after graduation to work full-time paying off my bills and shooting my own films on weekends, and then went to graduate film school at CalArts when I was 27.

So I don't think 20 is too old...

Hey, I'm new, but I figured I'd start out with this thread...