Advice/tips for undergraduate filmmaker

zuhairaly5

Hi, my name is Zuhair, I am an undergraduate high school student, soon by next year I will be going to university for cinema/filmmaking studies I've joined this forum to ask for advice and what to do next, filmmaking has always been my passion. right now I'm working on creating the supplement for the university like the portfolio, assessment and the work I've done by far, in this forum, I am looking for advice, tips, and ideas from everyone.

Hi and welcome to our community! :)
The portfolio can be used for multiple purpose, not only to attend Film School. You will need it in your future career as well. As an advice, focus on quality, you only need one or two really good short films. You can also attend Film Festivals with them. It is not mandatory to go to Film School to attend Film Festivals :)

What schools are you applying to? Requirements for admission vary, in terms of what they look for. Most of them are interested in good academic grades and excellent writing/communication skills.

Generally, they do not pay much attention to your high school projects (but again, depends on the university). What you should do is reach out to the schools that you are interested in, NOW, and speak with the professors to find out what they are looking for.

Many film schools have an interview process. They are looking for if you are an interesting person and serious in filmmaking and not just as a hobby or "gap year". Many film schools will ask for samples of previous works, photographs or stories you have written, this is also, I guess so they have a different range of students and not a class full of star wars fans. So the more unique you are the more likely you will get accepted.