Advice needed on best digital lighting

crystal

Hi. I am new to film making but want to make it my profession. I really need to know what the best kind of software is in order to create really professional looking digital lighting. I want my films to have that 'I-am-a-movie-not-a-home-video' look. lol. As I plan on making horror films I think I'd need some pretty dramatic lighting as well.

i'm not really sure what you mean by software for lighting.

If you're looking to learn how to light, I'd go pick up some theatrical and movie lighting books at the library or a bookstore, and study up. Then, go ahead and practice with the lights. A lot of this is practicing...just do it, as they say.

Lighting is lighting -- it's not a film vs. digital issue. You make some adjustments for the contrast range of a particular film stock or digital system, but in general, you have to light something for the look you want to create in terms of lighting. You want dappled blue moonlight coming through a window, for example, you have to light that whether in film or digital. You want a shadow pattern on a wall, you have to light for that.

I think everyone when the first start want to learn how to get the FILM look which is what your talking about. The home video look is because it is done on video (minidv, vhs, so on). Hollywood Movies are done on 16mm or 35mm giving them a more professional look but its VERY VERY expensive. Do your research there are ways to get that look through programs and a lot of color correction. Alot of it is having a good camera and shooting in 24p.

Ok, cool. So, I have heard that I can shoot on a DVcam and then have the movie printed onto 35mm, would that induce a more professional look or would it need to be shot on 35mm straight off?
Thanks for the advice, it is great.

First of all, if you want a traditional 35mm look and can afford to shoot in 35mm, then you should shoot in 35mm. But I'm assuming that 35mm isn't even an option for you.