Whats a good start?

TMegens

Hey guys,

Im new to filmmaking and I was wondering if you got tips for me for getting started. Like whats a good workflow, good app. to start/work with (got PPro, AE atm) , good books , etc.

Thanks in advance.

Teun Megens.

Here are a few bits of advice for first-time filmmakers:
  • • Read Rebel without a Crew by Robert Rodriquez.
    • Buy a mac.
    • Get an AVC-HD camera.
    • Shoot and edit as much as you can.
    • Study screenwriting.
And of course, subscribe to my podcast for beginning filmmakers, Filmmaker One.

filmmakerone said:

• Yeah and also go to youtube and watch is Ten Minute Film School.

I strongly agree with Director 15. Rodriquez's 10-Minute Film School pieces are very good.

All of Robert Rodriquez's DVDs have fantastic extra material for filmmakers. Most include one or more 10-Minute Film School segments. One has a 10-Minute Cooking School segment that is really good also, from a culinary as well as an editing study.

And the directors commentary on the alternate sound tracks are very enlightening. He talks in depth about his style of directing, cinematography, editing and producing. Great stuff.

The DVD for El Marachi is particularly appropriate for a first-time filmmaker. I think it still sells as a double disc set with Desparado. Check Amazon. A super bargain for any student off film technique.

I'm a big proponent of just jumping in and making films. There's so many great books and websites (like this one) to help new moviemakers these days, it makes me wish I hadn't grown up in the 80's and 90's!!

Good luck!
Brian

Also a good thing that I've found helps. Depending on what type of movie/director/editor/whatever that you want to get into/do is to go to your local video store and rent a shit load of videos in that genre/by that director/whatever. And take lots of notes on pacing, editing, etc. You may not be able to emulate all that's done in that feild, but it gives you a fair idea of what to do.