Want to get better at lighting.

DanAroi

I am a young filmmaker and I've been having trouble grasping lighting. I have shot multiple short films but they have mostly all been with available light, and I want to take my film making to the next level. But I have been having a difficult time understanding lights. Things like what lights to use, color temperatures, using flags, Gel types, etc. It's so much to take in. If anyone can help with some websites, videos, books anything, it would be greatly appreciated.

The two articles below will help you learn about lightning. The Setting Up Camera & Lights article teaches how to position and adjust the lights, and teaches about the different types of lights. The Color Temperature & Gels article teaches the difference between tungsten and daylight lights and gels.

http://www.filmhandbook.com/camera-techniques/setting-up-camera-lighting-equipment/
http://www.filmhandbook.com/camera-techniques/color-temperature-gels/

I would recommend to purchase an inexpensive 3-piece lighting kit with barndoors on eBay or Amazon to help learn the basics of lighting. If your lights have a color temperature of daylight, then buy tungsten gels to put over your lights. If your lights have a color temperature of tungsten, then buy daylight gels for each of your lights. This will allow you to film with both tungsten and daylight, regardless of the color temperature of your lights. You could also buy some C-47's (wooden clothes pins) to attach the gels to your lights for $5. I would also recommend to buy a set of Opal Frost 410 diffusion gels. If your gels come large enough, you can cut them in half to cover 2 lights per gel. Diffusion gels will allow your lighting to be diffused so it's not as harsh on the actors -- so it looks more natural. ( eBay has had the least expensive gels on the Internet over the last few years - http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odk...l+frost+gel.TRS0&_nkw=opal+frost+gel&_sacat=0 )