Should I light an outdoor beach scene?

cedrictonk

Hi, I'm new to the whole lighting thing. I'm filming on location at a beach.
Should I light it? I know the sun is often used as key light and then you use a fill light but does it make a difference?

Should I?

good question

good question

Great question cedrictonk,
The short answer is No...ish.
The more appropriate answer is:
When shooting in bright sunlight, I find it easier (and much more cost effective) to bring lots of white bounce-boards to bounce the sunlight onto your subjects. I use foam-board (like for your science-fair project). I'm never satisfied with "good enough" so I sprayed adhesive over the back & pressed aluminum foil to provide a shiny side for even more powerful lighting.

There are a few things I check for to ensure the best possible picture. My first step is to reduce hard shadows on the face, especially under the eyes. To achieve a sense of depth, make sure one side of the face is brighter than the other (aka key light). The shadows on the other side (fill light) give the greatest sense of depth. In this situation, the key light is the sun and the fill light is the reflected light from your bounce board. Remember, the viewer doesn't see *anything* outside the camera's view...take advantage of that hiding space to have someone hold (or prop-up) a bounce board, and you'll have it made.

As a side note, try to avoid partially shady areas. You'll never be able to get a good exposure in that kind of environment. Remember, you're the filmmaker and you decide where the action takes place.

With that in mind, it's important to not try to get rid of ALL the shadows...they play an important role in achieving a beautiful picture!

Happy shooting & best wishes,
RY

It's funny because Grips usually get giddy whenever they go out to do an exterior scene.... that's mainly when the cables are put away and it becomes more about controlling light.