Panasonic AG-HVX200 edited on FCP "low res"?

G

Grainy

hey folks
Is there a way to shoot with the Panasonic AG-HVX200, save the data directly to an externa hard drive, but get it into my not-bad-but-2006 imac at a lower resolution for editing, then to create a cut list and export to the final digibeta (or whatever) at full res again?
The object being to be able to use the HVX200 w/o needing a humongous, high-end editing suite...
thanks for your patience; I'm new to digital.... I recently saw "Quiet City", shot on the Panasonic AG-HVX200, and it's the first time EVER I've seen a video original projected without looking either like a giant TV or like plastic.
thanks
G

DVCPRO-HD is not a horsepower hog at all. That iMac should handle it just fine. You should be able to edit the footage just fine. The only requirement, and this is true regardless of codec, is you need an external Firewire drive to put all your project and media files on. You can't edit properly with FCP off the system drive. But you should be able to handle DVCPRO-HD just fine.

BenB said:
DVCPRO-HD is not a horsepower hog at all. That iMac should handle it just fine.

Too true Ben, my iMac handles DVC-PRO HD like a charm, I just wish it could handle HDV as smoothly. Is there not an option in Log and Transfer window where you can change the video import settings?

flexmore said:
BenB said:
DVCPRO-HD is not a horsepower hog at all. That iMac should handle it just fine.

Too true Ben, my iMac handles DVC-PRO HD like a charm, I just wish it could handle HDV as smoothly. Is there not an option in Log and Transfer window where you can change the video import settings?

What I said IS in fact true, as I talked about DVCPRO-HD. You confirmed that statement in your reply. HDV is totally different from DVCPRO-HD, don't confuse the two. HDV is Long GOP format, as DVCPRO-HD is not.