new to boards & need help w/convert film to digital

cls

I am new to this form and am very much a novice. I am hoping that someone can either enlighten me or provide me with a resource for obtaining the following:

I need to understand the process of converting film to digital. I need to know what software is needed in order to compress files and upload them to the web. Is this something I can do in the comfort of my own home or would I need to outsource this?

To get more to the point – I am an actress and would like to take the work of myself and a few of my peers and showcase it on the web.

If for instance I was given films in any of the following formats VHS, S-VHS, Beta Sp, Mini DV, DV Cam – what software, if any, could I use to compress it and upload it to the internet at broadcast quality?

Additionally, if the films were given to me on CD or DVD would the process be the same, what software, if any, could I use to upload it and show it over the internet at broadcast quality?

Thank you in advance.

Macintosh

Macintosh

What you really want to do is get yourself a new (G4,G5) Mac.

These things are made to sling video around out of the box.

Find an Apple dealer and tell them what you want to do............the will probably do exactly what you want to do right there in the store.

kaos

Yep, but that would cost quite a lot of money, and if you would tell us what computer you have, then it could be considered if your actual PC/MAC can handle it.

Putting film (I mean s8, 16 mm, 35 mm) on a computer is not as esay as what you plan to do which is actually putting video on your computer.

You basically only need a video acquiring card and the proper connection...

If it's dv or dvcam (digital video), you should use a IEEE (firewire) connection. Then you'd need your card to have IEEE connection, for the best result.