Need Serious Help

S

ScottADD

Hello everyone, I'm new to this message board but I am seriously in the need for help & any kind of suggestions...so hear me out (sorry, for the long talk). Okay, I want to become film director/producer but heres the thing. I live in Tampa, Florida & I've already was accepted to two film schools (Full Sail & Ringling) but I went to see & check these schools out & both are just bad film programs. To start, Full Sail doesn't believe in the film program at all. So much negative talk from the whole faculity from teachers to the principal when I went there to visit. I mean there the best when it comes to equipment but there program was just such a...I can't even describe it to yea. As for Ringling, well...that school calls there film program a "wing it" program for the price of $40,000 & to make things worse they have hardly anything together. Simply put there a massive mess. So, now I'm in situation where I have really nowhere else to go when it comes to schools because one, a University is really just out of the question because I don't want to take those two years of bull crap classes before ever get to film classes. two, I never took my SAT's so, that doesn't help much either especially when you've been out of High School for a little over a year now. I mean, I can't go to L.A. or N.Y. because no one in my family can't simply afford it (to damn expensive out there). I'm not saying I'm poor by any means but where not rich enough for me to go out there for school (which is expensive enough) & to live (which is almost impossible when it comes to living expenses). I mean not even loans or grants cover enough. So, I'm now in a situation where school is a big question mark & getting a job in a near by production company is pretty much out. Do to the fact I talked to the Director/CEO wanting a individual with a bit more knowledge in special effects & such. At that time I was planning on heading to school but as I said that has changed. I must