My first screenplay,I Need Help Figuring Out How To Kill Off A Character

Paul Holloway

I am a film student but currently on a LOA from my university. One of the next classes I would of taken would be a screenwriting class. I decided to create my first screenplay without that class but hopefully I can go back to it to get some pointers.

During Act 1, the male lead has to leave his girlfriend behind and move in with his family. The ex-girlfriend has a part in Act 1 and 3. When he arrives to the new town he meets up with a new love interest but before he acts he finds out that he is "no longer with the company. During the rest of the script the male lead thinks she is just gone from the store but he finds out at the end that she died. Trying to make it as shocking as it can be, because he can still see her because he can connect with her ghost. So he thinks nothing bad has happened to her. I need to think of a creative way to explain how she dies.

The last time they see each other before she dies. The male character is outside his work and she drives up in a car. The female lead is in the passenger seat while there is a male driving the car. They drive up and look at each other through the window of the car. Then the driver speeds out of the parking lot.

That is the last time they see each other and she dies after this I explain the death in act 3 when the male see's how she died " It is explained like "It's A Wonderful Life" in a way.

I need the death to be creative. She is last seen in a car but don't want the death to be a car accident. I am open to all ideas, thanks

Paul

OMG. I can't believe THIS!
I have exactly the same dilemma. I'm not a film student though, but I'm trying to become one.
I'm trying to make a video for my portfolio in order to apply for an awesome scholarship for a prestigious film school.
The "screenplay" is almost finished, but I'm stuck as to how to kill the lead girl.
My story involves a GHOST TOO!!! OMG.