psypent81

Hey everyone!
I'm relatively new to this whole filmaking genre, and I wanted to see if anyone knew of any particular places in downtown LA where I can get a really good shot of Downtown LA (Specifically the skyscrapers). I wanted a shot where the buildings fill up the shot, preferably on a rooftop. I was hoping that someone has heard of or knows about a place that has really nice views and is accesible to anyone.
If know one knows, can you at least tell me some tips or point me in the right direction of how I should approach location scouting?
I went with a friend o mine, and we found a couple of spots, but nothing that was "IN" downtown. it was more on the outskirts, and I'm looking for something closer.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

-Psypent

You need a permit to be shooting on the streets of LA, and if you go into a building, you'll need permission. Of course, you can always risk "stealing" a shot if you move quickly enough... Permits are not that hard to get though.

There are some empty parking lots in Little Tokyo and some rooftop views (like from the New Otani Hotel I suspect -- haven't been up there in a while) that look west at the skyline close. I'd scout some of the rooftops of parking structures there.

The bridges that span the 110 freeway near 5th have good close views of the buildings looking east. There might be some parking structures on the west side of the 110 freeway with a higher view. Even farther west are some empty hilltop lots, sort of around 3rd.

Farther away and higher might be Dodger Stadium (and even much farther, Griffith Observatory) for higher angles of downtown looking east. Looking west at the skyline from a distance, there are some hills near County USC Hospital area.

But if you want closer shots of downtown buildings, your best bet are the rooftop floors of parking structures in the area.