Introduction - Hello

Eric

How's it going? I found this website several weeks ago and attended the Roy Wagner workshop because of it (Great workshop by the way).

I'm originally from the Bay Area (North Cali), and moved down to LA about a year and a half ago. My background is in videography/editing (ENG/Broadcast style), but now I want to start from scratch and focus on film cinematography.
I was trying to figure out the best way to learn lighting...exposure...light meter..etc...without going back to school and spending $40,000.

A few people have told me the best way to master the art of lighting is to learn still photography (film).
My question to all of you is this...should I take a class on film still photography (I'd buy my own camera equipment, etc..$1500 I guess).
OR go into a basic filmmaking class where they hand you a bolex from school (probably spend about $1500 of trial and error projects).

I'm ready to start off in basic cinematography, but I am really worried if my strategy is outdated (especially with the whole HD thing happening). Oh..I plan to take classes at a Junior College in LA...anyone here have any recommendations?
Take it easy and hope to collaborate with all of you in the future,
Eric

Hey, and welcome to the forums.

Yes, still photography does help one understand the concepts of lighting. However, taking a basic cinematography/film class would cover the basic of lighting anyway, so i say go with the film class.

Fortunetly, my dad is ( or was) a professional photographer. Not only am I well educated on the concept of lighting as a result, but I also I have a full lighting system and then some already in my household, and I didnt spend a penny on it!

Good Luck Eric