I want to make a movie out of a short story...

I'm considering making a film out of The Most Dangerous Game by Richard Connell. Can anyone give me any tips or ideas on how to do it? I'm just a beginner, by the way, so I don't have multiple cameras, only a $100 handeld.

Based on the story's setting, though, I believe I could go through with it.

Thanks for any feedback.

seems pretty ambitious, but that's what this is all about right?
I can't give you too many tips, I'm still a beginner myself.. but I might suggest you be more specific about what you're asking here.
Also, if you're planning on doing it commercially, you're going to need to look into buying the film rights for the story. Unless it's in the public domain, which I doubt. And I know there's been several big studio adaptations, so I doubt you'll actually be able to get the film rights.
If you're not wanting to sell it though, then go ahead and make it. Or consider doing a parody, or maybe making up your own story which has been inspired by the most dangerous game.

Yeah, I was thinking about making my own adaptation of it. It's not going to be commercial, not at this point anyway; I'm planning to post it online somewhere.

Thanks for the advice!

I like your idea.
Well my big thing at the moment is how to guide the camera.
I have come to look at it all in another way.
What I think about first is..
"What emotion or sensation do I want to produce in the mind of the viewer?"
Then I figure out what I need to do with POV, people, places and props in order to get that.
So I'm thinking that you have one big emotional rollercoaster in that story.
What would you say is the main emotion of the story?

I'm not sure it's fear.
I think it may be about the spirit of the game.
Almost a playfull sort of match.
kind of spy vs spy.
You could set it anywhere really, and at night, to cut down on cost.

ps for the record . I loved the tenth victim...and logans run..both have elements of your film in there.

Last edited: