I need help too?

K

Kay020

I am now a student at Ohio State University working on a communications degree. I figured it would be a good idea to start of with a degree then move onto a directing career. I, however, do not know how to go about things. I need some advise on what I should do after I am done here. Or what classes I could take to get me started. Basically I am lost and need some advise. Could you help?

Hi Kay020,

Welcome to the forums! You mentioned you were working on a communications degree. What is your concentration? Does your school offer film courses? Or a minor/concentration in film? What do you want to direct? Movies, documentaries, music videos? Take a film course and a writing course.

Feel free to ask a lot of questions here. Good luck!

I am actually wanting to direct music videos. I figured that it would be a good idea to get a degree in something first to fall back on. I have been taking theater classes and history of popular music classes. But i just need some advise on where i should go after i am done here and what i can do. So anything that you could say to help me out, i would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

Hey Kay,

I'm a student as well, so my level of expertise is relatively limited, but I’d suggest you continue pursuing your education through school, whichever school that may be, preferably one that offers the most dynamic and interesting programs. However, it's also imperative for you to pursue your filmmaking interests in the real world. Go out and do something on your own terms. It doesn’t have to be extravagant, just whatever you want to do. Do you know anyone personally who has a band, or is a musician? If not, I’d suggest finding someone whose music inspires you visually, and offer to do a video for him or her, if that's what you really want to do...?