How much do nonunion and union screenwriters make per draft?

roja111

I have just completed a treatment for a one hour tv dramady, and in the process of finding a writer to help complete my pilot. However, I am very new to the industry, and I am concerned with what rights a nonunion has when coming on board to help me as well as their salary.
Meaning, if I hire a nonunion writer for hire, all materials belong to me, right?

My main concern is that when hiring a nonunion writer, how much is the normal price to pay per draft for an experienced writer, and for a non experienced writer? (Both of which are nonunion)

Re: How much do nonunion and union screenwriters make per dr

Re: How much do nonunion and union screenwriters make per dr

roja111 said:
I have just completed a treatment for a one hour tv dramady, and in the process of finding a writer to help complete my pilot. However, I am very new to the industry, and I am concerned with what rights a nonunion has when coming on board to help me as well as their salary.
Meaning, if I hire a nonunion writer for hire, all materials belong to me, right?

My main concern is that when hiring a nonunion writer, how much is the normal price to pay per draft for an experienced writer, and for a non experienced writer? (Both of which are nonunion)

Since it is your property, the rights remain with you. However, the writing credit really should be shared if the writer you hire does a good deal of work on the script (especially since all you have is a treatment, which isn't a lot)--unless you put it in writing that only you will get writing credit, no matter how much work the other writer does.