Help finding a mic

marklight

I'm looking into buying a Mic for the JVC GR-HD1. I am an amateur filmmaker, but I am not too knowledgeable about audio. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions as to what mic would be good and compatible with the GR-HD1. I do not want a mic that must be mounted to the camera- I need it to be able to extend away from the camcorder so I can be away from the action, yet still be able to get the mic close to it to hear what's going on. QUestions that I have are ; will the mic need an external powersource? how does that work, or does the mic use the camera's powersource? Thanks for any help. - Also, if anyone knows what size the mic jack is that would be helpful. I've looked in the manual to find what size it is, but I can't find anything. One more thing- would using a DAT machine /mic be a better combo in terms of easiness to use and quality of sound- rather than trying to find a Mic for that camera?

Ok well i guess this brings me to another question.
I was looking at this mic-

Sennheiser ME66/K6P - Super-Cardioid Short Shotgun Condenser Microphone Capsule with K6P (Phantom Only) Power Supply

Does my camcorder supply phantom power? (GR-HD1) If not - I know that Sennheiser makes a similar mic that can be powered another way. IF my mic doesn't supply phantom power, then how would I go about powering the other mic? Does that mean that I wouldnt be able to connect it to my camera's input? - meaning would I have to use a DAT machine or another recorder and then in post-editing match up the sound.

This means that you'll need something else to power the mic...

You don't have to record elsewhere...
you could always get a field mixer (they have phantom power)... and send the output from that into your camera.

Ok so let me get this all down in one thought: