Career Advice

B

braincase

In actual years I am an Old Dog. In respect to most of the things I want to do however, I am a newbie.

I love this forum, partly because about 2 years ago I received kind, well spoken advice from Kim Welch.

So I'll quit babbling and cut to the chase. I need some kind of career/education guidance.

I am confused about what Motion Graphics means anymore.
It used to apply to the video/broadcast media but now it can apply to the Gaming Industry, as well as Web Design. Motion graphics persons in each of those industries may be required to use totally different tools and techniques. And I don't think I am the only one confused.
For example here is a partial job listing for a "motion graphics" person:

Motion Graphics Experts should have the following characteristics: - Significant Flash MX 2004 design & animation experience - Significant interactive design and development experience - Significant streaming media & integrated flash sound / video experience Preferred: - Interactive media agency experience - Rich media advertising banner technology (Pointroll, Eyeblaster, etc) experience - Actionscript 2.0 / OOP application design experience - 3D design & modeling experience - After Effects & video compositing experience - Data-driven application development experience.

The job above is more oriented toward a web based position and they are looking for very specific experience. But how in the world would anyone get that training. I can find other job listings that are oriented toward Gaming, or broadcast. But here is my problem. I can find no comprehensive training programs that fit web or gaming, only broadcast - which frankly isn't where the jobs are. And when I look for Web based animation programs, their curriculum is extremely lacking and ten years behind the trends.

Most of these mediums are merging and I can find no place where the training programs are adapting.

Am I making myself clear?
Can anyone offer good training solutions?