• Yes (Composer)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes (Nitris)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
D

DerekEastham

Ok,
I'm surprised that no-one has started an Avid topic yet...
so here goes.

I've some experience with an Avid Media Composer 1000.
Nice system, but very buggy and rather old.
I've also been introduced to the latest and greatest Avid
DS Nitris system... rather amazing actually... very surprised
by the tremendous power behind it.

Also, might as well include Pro-Tools systems in here... as
DigiDesign is an Avid company.
I've used Pro-Tools... and looked into a brand new ICON
system.

So, anyone have any questions? Any at all...
I know quite a lot about the Avid line... and I'd love to help
answer anything that anyone might want to know about.

Hey,

I've been very interested in getting the new AVID Express Suite for PC, what do you think of it?
I've never used Avid, at the moment I'm stuck with FCP on a Mac at school and I'm trying to deal with Vegas on my current PC, but I've been spoiled with FCP's Real-time Extreme.
If not Avid, I may have to opt for Adobe's Video Suite, but I just have a feeling that the Avid Suite is much more resourceful.

Then, to make matters more confusing, there are rumors that FCP may become available for PC!?
WHAT TO DO!?

If FCP was released on the PC, I think I'd forget about Avid :).

Avid has a lot of features, and the ability to edit a project on a low-end Avid and then easily do a final online edit on an expensive system, but the interface is just so damn 1980s. It's possible that if you use it all the time then the modal, keyboard-driven interface is fast and easy to use, but I just find it horribly clunky compared to Premiere and FCP.