Aspect Ratio

Denisse

Hello Everyone!
I have a question about aspect ratio. My Camera shoots in 24f mode 16:9 native and I've been using that combination. It's my first time seeing what the 16:9 looks like. When I play back the footage on my TV set, the images are kind of elongated. Not terribly so, but enough where I notice a diference. When I do ECU shots I don't notice it, but I'm sure that's because it's so close.
Is it the 16:9 aspect ratio that's causing that? What is the standard 4:3 right? I am a newbie, so please bear with me.
I took a class, and sadly to say all that was mention about 16:9 is that it's wide screen, and there was mention about an anamorphic lense that squeezes the image then upon editing it releases it. Well I am not using that lense, so I guess that's what native means. But is it posibble that the image is sligthly squeezed and that's why it looks long, because it's unedited?
Also, which aspect ratio is considered standard, and if there is no standard perse, then from your experience when do you suggest I use each?

In standard definition video, pixels are not square, and this is particularly true for 16x9. You see, whether a standard def video signal is 4x3 or 16x9, they share the same pixel dimensions (720 x 480 for NTSC, for example.)

It's just that the pixels in a 16x9 NTSC recording are skinnier than the ones on a 4x3 NTSC recording. When the signal is sent to a 16x9 monitor, it looks correct, but when it goes to a 4x3 TV monitor, everything will look skinny. It has to be converted from 16x9 "anamorphic" to a 4x3 "letterboxed" image for display on a 4x3 monitor. A DVD player does this automatically, or through the menu controls, but a tape deck doesn't. So unless you put this 16x9 recording on a DVD, you will have to make a version from the 16x9 master that is a conversion to 4x3 letterbox, for putting on tape for example.