American Society of Cinematographers Announces Student Heritage Award Winners

Lisa Muldowney

New member
The winners of the 2020 American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Student Heritage Awards were named Saturday night (February 27) during a virtual presentation. Three student filmmakers were chosen for demonstrating exceptional cinematography skills in their submitted work.

ASC cinematographers Paul Atkins, Tommy Maddox-Upshaw and David Stockton presented the awards alongside ASC President Stephen Lighthill, Student Awards Co-Chairs Crag Kief and Armando Salas, and Sony’s Manager of Digital Cinema Camera Sales and Business Development Daniel Perry. As this year’s student awards sponsor, Sony also bestowed gift packages, including Sony cameras, to the nominees and winners. The recorded event will be made available for on-demand streaming on the ASC website and social channels in the coming weeks.

Following is the complete list of winners:

Michael Chapman Student Heritage Award – Graduate Category:

Ai Chung for A Young Tough (Chapman University)

Allen Daviau Student Heritage Award – Undergraduate Category:

Elias Ginsberg for Milk Teeth (University of Southern California)

Haskell Wexler, ASC Student Documentary Award:

Melanie Grams for Driven (University of Southern California)

Designed to encourage and support the next generation of cinematographers, the annual ASC Student Heritage Awards also celebrate the memory of an ASC member. This year’s Undergraduate Award was named in honor five-time Oscar®-nominee Allen Daviau, ASC (Bugsy, Avalon, Empire of the Sun, The Color Purple, E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial). The ASC Graduate Award recognizes two-time Academy Award nominee Michael Chapman, ASC (Raging Bull, The Fugitive). The Documentary category is enduringly dedicated to multi-Oscar®-winner Haskell Wexler, ASC (Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Bound for Glory).

Many of those recognized by the ASC Student Heritage Award program since inaugurated in 1999 have gone on to have successful careers in filmmaking, including the Student Awards Committee Co-chairs Craig Kief and Armando Salas, alongside other ASC members Nelson Cragg, Masanobu Takayanagi, and Lisa Wiegand.


  • ASC Heritage Awards 2020 - Wexler Chapman Daviu.jpg
    ASC Heritage Awards 2020 - Wexler Chapman Daviu.jpg
    515.5 KB · Views: 181
Congratulations to all the winners!
I see the people in the movie industry are paid a lot of money. So I think that this budget will be enough to start and film a small, low-budget film. I believe that nowadays, this industry is dying because of the COVID-19 pandemic situation. A lot of cinemas are closed, and a lot of movies are losing big money. Anyway, I see that there appeared a lot of new exciting movies on I always use this platform to find new exciting films or get some inspiration for my small movie. You will find there a lot of valuable things.
Last edited:

Network Sponsors

Network Sponsors

Christian Youth Film Society, Film Festival, Call for Entries

CSI Rentals - Camera - Lighting - Grip - Expendables - Manhattan - New York City - NYC - Brooklyn - New York - NY -

Cine Lab, New and Pre-Owned Cinema and Broadcast Equipment. Buy, Sell, Consignment.



TNFF: The North Film Festival, NYC

Love & Hope International Film Festival, Barcelona