16mm and Widescreen: Do these two go together?

Barry Lyndon

I've been a still photographer for a long time, and after years of composing my pictures in (roughly) 1.66/1, I'm finding the standard aspect ratio somewhat unrewarding. I can't afford 35mm, but I've heard that Super-16mm comes out as 1.66/1. That's great -- I mean, heck, it's the aspect ratio of Barry Lyndon!

But it made me curious: is there such a thing as full animorphic widescreen (2.40/1) for 16mm? I imagine that animorphic 16mm would look pretty darned terrific, but I've never heard it mentioned as a possibility in any filmmaking discussions.

I know, however, that Orson Welles shot Touch of Evil on 16mm, and that movie is presented on DVD at the 1.85/1 widescreen, and is referred to on the box as animorphic. Was the animorphic effect created just for the DVD, or did Mr. Welles really shoot an animorphic 16mm movie?

And if not, can someone who has filmed Super-16 share their thoughts on the 1.66/1 aspect ratio? The particular genre of the film I'm planning calls for widescreen -- any widescreen -- but the budget is tight. Any thoughts? Advice?

Thanks in advance!

Elijah

Perhaps one of the ASC's can give you a difinative answer to your question, but I can tell you that if you are shooting 16mm you usually wouldn't have the budget to be shooting anamorphic anyway.

Most of the time when people shoot 16mm for widescreen, they frame for it while shooting then simply letterbox (crop) the image in the editing program.

This is often done with 35mm too. When things get shot 1.85 widescreen, the actual negative may have booms hanging in etc, this just gets cropped out in the projection of the image. If you are talking true anamorphic 2.40 aspect ratio, this requires anamorphic lenses for filming and a lens which reverses the effect when the image is projected.