young inspired amateur director

PJ_LARICKS

hi my name is peter and i am 18 years old still in high-school (started school a tad bit late) and i am inspired on directing ever since i was 12 years old i wanted to make movies. i just wanted to know if any one can point me into the right path or something. THANKS

i HEART ENTOURAGE :D

I'm in a similar position to you. I'm also 18 and am in college studying Media and Film. I'm currently in my second year and about to start production on my second film. My advice to you is that no matter how many books you read, no matter or much you research making films, the only way you gonna learn is to actually get out there making films. Obviously being the age we are and having the facilities we have avaliable, making a film can be a daunting task. However it is something you have got to go for and use your school/college as much as you can.

Good luck.

P.S here is the link to my first short earlier in the year
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TInHoSpN700

I totally agree with JackTorrance. first I learned a hell lot about filming in theory and read nearly everything about filming on the internet :p . But when your actually filming its really not the same. You'd be thinking that because you know everything about filming that your going to make a real great movie but its really not that easy . Im 15 years now and im also completly into filming. So really start filming to know how it is :p

This just a trailer i made for school but turned out to be quite good :p
http://nl.youtube.com/watch?v=c7CGv_1abLw

Yes the best way to learn is to get out there and start making films. But just remember always be true to yourself no matter what the project. But I would suggest write your first film yourself don't take anyone elses work because it won't be yours and most people are not willing to let you change their script to fit your needs if their not making any money.