Where Does The Stream Flow - Short Film

Thomas.roberts

Name
Thomas Roberts
Date
6/17/21
What flows within us which makes us transcendent? or seemingly so? Is it even possible to to realize these things within a social order, or does it make it all the more necessary?

I'm fairly new to filmmaking and so I'm opening the floodgates to any and all receptions; I would love to hear what anyone has to say. I'm also new to the forum, but now since film rules my life, and I hope to become more active here and give some of my feedback too. Appreciate any feedback, thanks.

Hello Thomas Roberts! :) I can see that your film has deep and a spiritual meaning as well. Very nice! Can you tell us more about what inspired you to create this film?

Hello Thomas Roberts! :) I can see that your film has deep and a spiritual meaning as well. Very nice! Can you tell us more about what inspired you to create this film?
Hi! it's been an extremely busy summer for me and I have not had much time to check up on this site. I appreciate the response!

To answer your question. The film was a project for a class on comedy! The project I made was obviously not comedic in nature, but is rooted in many of the psychoanalytic thinkers we viewed comedy through during the class. Lacan's ideas of Lack and Excess were the main drivers in the project, with Todd Mcgowan's "Only a Joke Can Save Us" (https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctv47w7ff) providing the connection between Lacan and comedy within film.

In it's most basic form, we become lacking upon entrance into a social order, and in order to amend this, we partake in excessive activities. Lacan puts this at the forefront of our psychological development.