What do I need to become a screen writer

clydeworldwyde

Hi everybody,

This is my first time using this website and I hope I can recieve useful tips for pursuing my dreams as a screen writer.

Right now I am worried about what type of education would be best for me. What's going to make the big time film companies pick me to work for them?

I heard from different colleges that obtaining a BA isn't necessary for becoming a screen writer. I am interested in joining the LA Film Institute for a 1 year immersion.

Will the big timers look at me without a BA?

The LA Film Institue would probably get my feet wet in the movie making industry, but will it limit me to career advancements since I don't have a BA?

Please help. I did research on my own and could not find anything. I want to become a screen writer more than anything.

Hi clydeworldwyde,

I have never written a screenplay but this week I have started with it. I would recommend you to get the book “Screenplay – The Foundations of Screenwriting” 2005 by Syd Field.

Introduction

1. What Is a Screenplay? 2. The Subject 3. The Creation of Character 4. Building a Character 5. Story and Character 6. Endings and Beginnings 7. Setting Up the Story 8. Two Incidents 9. Plot Points 10. The Scene 11. The Sequence 12. Building the Story Line 13. Screenplay Form 14. Writing the Screenplay 15. Adoption 16. On Collaboration 17. After It’s Written 18. A Personal Note

I think it’s 12 Dollars or something Concerning Script Formating, you'll find useful information also under the subject "A Few Notes on Formatting" on

www.oscars.org/nicholl/format.html

It is a screenplay about how to formate it. It is also available as pdf and it cost nothing.

The best way to become a screenwriter is:

Write.