student filmmaker horror story, need advice & give warni

N

Narphobula

Hi all,

My name is Mark and I'm brand spanking new to this student filmaker forum, but very accquainted with the magazine.
I have a problem, wondering if anyone could give me some advice. I'd also like my problem to serve as a warning of sorts.

I was a student director of a feature film this last summer. Script was written by student. Produced by an Alumni, EP role assumed by Prof, but all other crew positions filled by students. I recieved (yet to actually recieve, but will recieve) class credit for this production, as will/did the crew and post-prod. crew.
It was a 15 or so week ordeal, 5 weeks prior to summer classes, 10 weeks of the actual summer "class". Everything started from scratch - from the script (an adaptation written in a week's time, amazingly) to the workshopping of the script (really a drag) and additional pre-prod. training, which all lasted for 4 weeks. 6 weeks of production time. I put in a lot of time, effot, creative energy throughout... I made it my baby. But don't we all? :D
We all had to sign agreements saying that our university had the right to display our work for promotional purposes, and that we also retained the copyright for our work, or something to that nature. That's where it's blurry for me, it was sort of signed under diress. (Sign or you're off, 3/4's of the way into filming.)
Production went as smooth as can be with zero budget, under-trained and student crew, and the necessity for around 50+ extras (yeah, try swinging that with no craft services.) The Prof EP wasn't to be seen but for an hour a week for the first 5 weeks of production. I was A-OK with this, because this prof. has been less than kind in the past concerning creative choices. We were a crew, and when a problem came along, we were self-sufficient. Troubleshooting was no big deal. To summate - it was awesome.

Then what could go wrong did go wrong.