New Director on the Set

SpecialK

Hey wuz up all. I am SpecialK. I have a question. I have worked n many film sets, but right now I am going to film my OWN short films this summer in Miami. This will be my FIRST movie that I directed. I will be seeing if any of the shorts will be accepted in any film festivals. Do you think this is a good way to get started as a young director? Or should I just work on more sets to get more experience from watching the professionals? Well I am just asking to get some feed back from the rest of the film community. I will be making about 3 short films in the next 3 months in Miami. Hit me up and let me know what you think.

Directing etc

Directing etc

If you want to direct, then direct.

Of course, it's always a good idea to put in some time being AD and doing other jobs on set, but if you want to be director, the best way to learn about it is to direct your own film.

I'm a final-year film student in Cape Town, and the first year of school I spent doing everything else on set except directing because it seemed like such a big job. Eventually, about five months into my second year, I wrote, directed and produced my first short film and that experience taught me more about directing than the entire first year.

I think if you're spending three months shooting three movies, by the time you start shooting the third one, you'll have a pretty good idea of what's what and what not to do.

I hope it goes well.

Of course, it's always a good idea to put in some time being AD and doing other jobs on set,

To be honest, AD would be pretty low down my list of jobs that an aspiring director should do: any job on a movie is good experience, but editing, writing and lighting/camera are probably far more important. Professional ADs typically seem to progress on to producing rather than directing, since it's more of an organisational role than a creative one.

Action Cures Fear

Action Cures Fear