Need advice on getting a camera...

Kyle

This is my first time posting anything on this website and I am so glad to have found it, I love this place!!! Well I am going to get a video camera for Christmas and want to make independent films. The problem is I only have about $800 to spend on one. I am looking for something that will give me a professional look because I plan to enter film fesitivals using the camera. I also would like a camera with audio jacks that would enable me to hook up a boom mike to the camera. Any suggestions...

Hi Kyle,

I'm also very new and looking for a camera, however my budget is a bit more than $800, since i've been looking for a few months now, and nothing "great" will be found for that much that you could use to submit to film festivals, also somthing with XLR is going to cost a bit more than $800.

Have you ventured around ebay yet? sometimes good deals are there.

go to ebay.com and type in "camcorder 3CCD" (without the quotes) - that should get you started :)

you should be looking for minimum something with 3CCD - you can then add on XLR inputs such as the ones from Beachtek.

Good luck mate!