Making an Offer to Option Flim Rights to a Book

KGB

I've recently come into an opportunity to make an offer to option the film rights for a book. The book is called "When the Rivers Run Dry," by Fred Pearce. It's a book that presents the argument that lack or water (not oil), will be the defining crisis of the 21st century.
I'm totally new at this so I'm looking for as much advice as I can get.
She (I'm dealing with the agent) want us to make an offer on the option. So here are basically my questions:
1) My understanding of this whole process is that as a small production company, the best way would be to start w/ a lowball offer for the option and then pay out the back end with a percentage of the total gross. So we might purchase the option, produce the film and enter it into a bunch of film fests and hope it gets picked up by a distributor, at which point they will recieve a percentage of the gross...Does that sound right???
2) My second question is what would lowball offer be? I've tried to get some sales numbers from the agent, but she said the publishers are tight with those numbers. All she would tell me is that the publisher also published The Divinci Code, so it's a big name. So I really have no idea what to start with for an offer?
So any help (maybe there's some questions that I didn't even know to ask) would be GREATLY appreciated.

not much help

not much help

I might not be much help on these things but I want you to know that I have some very nice books that I have read that I am sure would make great movies and I asked Roy H. Wagner, ASC about it and he said that I need to find out who owns the rights to the book and then tell them that I am a small potatoe and that I don't have much money but would like to make an offer and then offer them $5,000.00. But, I am not sure if this will work in your case.

Re: not much help

Re: not much help

KimWelch said: