GL2 for Music Videos and Shorts?

jamiegraceh

First off, I hope I am posting this in the right spot! I'm a musician, recently got into film as a legit thing, and just just joined this website. So I hope I'm posting this where it should be posted!

I shoot documentaries, short films and promotional videos. Mainly for personal use (Youtube, personal events, church/school etc) as i have a Canon ZR950 and truly need to upgrade. In addition to what I film now I would also be adding music videos.

Anything for me would be a step up at this point so I don't want to be desperate and not buy the best camera. However for now I am hoping to spend under 2000.

The main reqs for me are 3CCD and XLR inputs. i am strongly considering the Canon GL2 or the Panasonic DVX100B. I would LOVE for the JVC GY-HM100U and I may wait until I can afford that but I need to make sure it's good for what I am aiming to do.

Thank you!!!

PS - do I need HD? What I shoot would mainly be on Youtube and DVD; also used to shoot pilots.

Hello, let me I introduce myself.

I am Stan, a newbie in this forum too. I was reading at your post and maybe I can help. I have search for a low priced "prosumer" camera and after all the reviews and recommendations, I decided to get one of these in the near future. I has everything needed and is under 1700.

My opinion is to try to go (within your budget) for the best option. This one has a 1/4 3CCD, XLR inputs, and it is HD. I am not sure if it is 24p, that would be great, but I think that for the price, it has very good features. By the way, besides the lens, it does not have any other moving part that can break with use. It records in SD memory cards.

if it's strictly for youtube, and dvd... HD is unnecessary.

the DVX is a better choice, in my opinion than the GL-2
cause you have the option to shoot 24p.

Personally, I wouldn't recommend JVC.