Getting hit in the face

F

FilmUnited

Hello all,

I am in preproduction for a short film right now that requires two stunts in which a character gets hit by an object falling from above.

The first is a baseball player who loses a fly ball in the sun and gets hit in the face by the ball.

The second is a bike rider (wearing a helmet) who gets hit in the head by a rock that someone throws up in the air.

I have little experience with stuntwork, however it is critical to the story that both of these events are believable. The film will be shot on 16mm, and I have only 1200 feet of film for six minutes of screen time so I cannot burn too much celuloid.

Any ideas of how to convincingly show people getting nailed in the face with hard objects without hurting my actors?

Corey

OK...

The Baseball...
A good friend of mine just told me that a good idea here would be to de-stitch the baseball... remove the hard core of the ball, and fill it with a softer foam-based filling... that way it'll still fly & bounce like a baseball, but without the umph... so if the actor is willing to take a slight bonk on the head, you're fine...

As for the rock...
Perhaps paper mache will work... or,
my good friend suggested - foam cut to look like a rock, coated with harder layer of foam... then paint it to look like a rock... industrial-design & technology students are pretty good for that stuff.

Anyhow... good luck & happy filmmaking!

I'm wondering if you couldnt take a styrofoam ball or something similar like you might find in a craft store, paint it like a baseball and weight it.

the rock could also be styrofoam and I've seen texture paints (dont know what else to call them) that can do a stone like appearance. If its just going to be on camera for a really short time, you might be able to get away with it

Paper Mache and styraphone are both good suggestions. I am contacting prop shops in my area about it. Thanks,

Corey