Getting a foot in the door

FilmGrad001

This is my first time posting here, as I just now stumbled onto this forum. I just graduated with a film degree and I'm starting the inevitable struggle in LA. My battle to find an entry level script analyst/coverage writer/office slave/PA/etc isn't turning up many results, but I'm hanging in there. I was just wondering if anyone here might have some tips on places to look or specific production companies to look into that have a history of hiring entry level grads - or any other suggestions on where to look or approaches to take. I'm obviously doing something wrong and networking hasn't paid off for me yet, so I thought I'd take a shot in the dark and see if I've been overlooking something major that might land me that initial interview. I appreciate any advice that can be offered. Thanks again.

FilmGrad001, Welcome

FilmGrad001, Welcome

Could I ask you where you graduated from?

Thanks,

kaos

Hi & welcome!

I would highly recommend joining the LA chapter of the IFP... I'll pm you a link to their page...
their membership fee might be a bit high... but it's a very great service... and excellent networking opp for independents.

Also... you might search around for other local indy groups... never know what you're going to find.

And... if you're really crazy... and you ever think of moving up to Washington State... my crew and I are always lookin for new people to bring into the fold... HAH!

Good luck & happy hunting!