Foley for film

R

Ritzy

I am a final year degree student designing an interactive guide to Foley sound for independent film makers. At present I am conducting research within the independent film maker community in an attempt to establish the main content such a guide should have. Bellow are a few questions which I am posting for anyone to contribute their advice, experiences or opinions. Any replies can be sent to me directly at Moochmeister@hotmail.com

As an independent film maker:
1. What would you like to see in a guide to Foley?
2. Would you just like ideas for creating the sounds themselves, or the full monty of how those sounds go from conception to editing to final production on a project including equipment and software tips etc?
3. In what format do you think this information would be best presented eg web page, interactive dvd etc
4. Do you have any experience of Foley and if so what are the main problems you have encountered or advice you can give?
5. Do you think that Foley is an underestimated part of the film making process?
6. Any further comments or suggestions?

5. Do you think that Foley is an underestimated part of the film making process?
Deffinitely! I think sound in general is underestimated and overlooked in the film making process. Film makers need to have sound in mind before they start filming, this way they would have a lot less problems in the post production stages.

As for Foley. this is just one part of the audio post process. Without a clean dialogue track, a good dialogue editor, sound designer/editor, mixer why bother with good Foley. For example, if there's loads of wind noise on the production audio track and the audio from shot to shot doesn't match up, Foley is the least of your worries. One of the most important with sound for film is to get a good production recording, it will make all the other areas of sound, e.g. Foley, dialogue editing much more beneficial.