Does this sound interesting or worthwhile?

dallas42

I'm a relatively inexperienced filmmaker, but I have an idea that I would like to get some feedback on. One of my close friends is a singer/songwriter musician (think John Mayer, Matchbox 20, Dave Matthews, Howie Day, etc.), and after looking through his 30 some songs, I came up with an "original" idea. I say original because I don't know of anything similar to this, but I could just be ignorant. My idea is to take 16-20 of his songs and create a music video feature film ("a musical for the 21st Century MTV audience"). The story (for which I have already written a story treatment or outline for) would be based around his romantic adventures with two women and would be set in the senior year of high school. It would feature my friend as the protagonist (and antagonist since the conflict is an internal one), and would feature a mix between music video style and traditional narrative film style (visually), similar to the way musicals are shot.

I'll get into more details if people want them, but my main question is whether this is a good and workable idea. Thanks

I like the idea! It sounds very different than the usual indie fare—quite refreshing. It also sounds like it might be a challanging and costly project to pull off effectively. Good luck, I hope you persue it!

Good and Evil

Good and Evil

Could be great...I certainly think it is great that you have a new idea. We need more new ideas. Make it happen. having a great idea is the first part. Now you need to do the foot work so to speak. I like it.

Kim

Sounds like an interesting idea... but I wanted to just get a bit of clarification...

When you say musical, are you talking about Sound of Music, Newsies, and other films of the Musical Genre... or are you talking music video films... like "The Wall" and "Yellow Submarine" etc.?

Sounds like lots of fun either way.

any idea is workable....you have to make it work.