Documentary subject releases

metice

I know there is plenty of information available about releases but it is sometimes conflicting and seems to depend on geographical location.

I'm working on a documentary about AIDS orphans in Thailand. I have full permission to film the children, but there are obviously countless other adults appearing throughout the film. I understand that everyone who is interviewed must sign a release. What I'm less sure about is other people who appear in the shot.

When I speak to Americans they always say that everyone should sign a release. It's obviously easy to say than to carry out. Europeans seems to be less strict and concentrate on those being interviewed. I know that Thailand is not a litigious society compared to America - is this a factor a distributor or broadcaster will take into account if people haven't signed?

Anyone who has experience or opinions, please feel free to contribute!

Post Production

Post Production

I am not a lawyer but i have a pretty good idea if you are worried about a random face here and there and you are going to get the most important people to sign releases, right? Do just blur the faces that are not signed in post.

Documentary subject releases

Sorry for the following rant...

I'm not a lawyer either, but I spoke to one once or twice :)

I am an American living in India. Here's how we do it over here, as well as a couple of other needed recommendations…

Release are always good. Always.

Get them from everybody who:

1) Is principle to shooting. I.e., is talking or featured in the film.

2) All adults