Coverage: "Woody Allen" single shot master

K

kaos1000

Mr. Mullen,

When ever I watch Woody's coverage, I marvel at the lack of editing and minmal lighting that he uses to get his one shot scenes. It is as if the editor could have cut Annie Hall in one evening.

As a viewer, I fall in love with the seemless quality to it, as a filmmaker, I shudder at the rehearsal time it must take to do that.

Do most directors do "Woody" style coverage for a master and then bring the camera in for close-ups? Or is what Woody doing unique as an approach?

Thank you very much for your time,

kaos

Well, I think you already know that most movies shoot more coverage and cut the scene up more than Woody Allen does.

I prefer the precision of the shooting when Allen was working with Gordon Willis. And I like the stylistic flourishes in "Stardust Memories" even though it stole heavily from Fellini's "8 1/2". His more recent movies have been SO simply covered to almost be reductive. But on the other hand, most modern movies are overcovered and overcut, so it's refreshing to see the opposite approach in Allen's movies.

"Well, I think you already know that most movies shoot more coverage and cut the scene up more than Woody Allen does. "

Yes, I do. I guess I didn't state my question clearly enough.

Do most directors shoot a master in the "Woody style" (i.e. master shots that cover the whole scene with roughly 1 to 4 "keyframes" that the camera stops on) and then cover it more extensively so we never see the full continuous master in the cut? Or do they just shoot one wide (non-moving) master and then move in for close ups?

Thank you for your time,

kaos

In TV, directors are more required to shoot the scene in one master -- whether it moves or not depends on the action of the scene and if movement is desired. There's no rule about this; sometimes you have no choice but to move just to follow the action.