Wanting to buy a Mic for my JVC GR-HD1

marklight

I'm looking into buying a Mic for the GR-HD1. I am an amateur filmmaker, but I am not too knowledgeable about audio. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions as to what mic would be good and compatible with the GR-HD1. I do not want a mic that must be mounted to the camera- I need it to be able to extend away from the camcorder so I can be away from the action, yet still be able to get the mic close to it to hear what's going on. QUestions that I have are ; will the mic need an external powersource? how does that work, or does the mic use the camera's powersource? Thanks for any help. - Also, if anyone knows what size the mic jack is that would be helpful. I've looked in the manual to find what size it is, but I can't find anything. One more thing- would using a DAT machine /mic be a better combo in terms of easiness to use and quality of sound- rather than trying to find a Mic for that camera?

To answer your question in the easiest & fastest possible manner...

Using a FIELD MIXER with a microphone or multiple microphones will give you the best quality... from there you can go into a DAT machine or straight into the camera... or if you have the money... BOTH.

As for microphones...
if you have crew & money... get yourself a boom microphone set-up... boom pole, shock mount, etc.
A sony or shur shotgun microphone can make for an excellent boom.

Also... sony & shur wireless microphones make for wonderful microphones for capturing dialogue... they are generally easy to hide on actors & talent... and provide great audio quality.
I know Shur makes great dual wireless packages... a single reciever that accesses two microphones on separate channels... and I'm sure Sony also offers this.