Tailored Composing

CherishAllLife

Greetings all~

I felt compelled to post this, as I have been seeing a lot of this articles being posted here regarding this.

To be clear, I do not personally have anything against stock/library/royalty free music. It serves the exact purpose it needs to, especially with time sensitive projects.

That being said, I am a composer. I have experienced perhaps thousands of film scores ranging from every genre to every medium (tv/film/media/etc).

My question is; Are filmmakers fearful of employing the use of specifically tailored music? There seems to be a lot of filmmakers who are trying to fit stock music into their projects. Remaining as objective as possible, I would suggest spending MUCH MORE TIME finding music that fits aesthetically, and synchronously.

There are tons of composers who write decent music and can provide a tailored score (which is undoubtedly a much better decision long term) for the project. Music is the exact other side of the film coin, and sometimes even more important because it is non-diegetic, appealing to the subconscious efforts of the viewer. Stock music fails at almost every turn because it was not written with your project in mind.

Another indication/ thing I am worried about, is that this music is free. Free music is usually like free candy at a clinic....do you really think it's going to be good? Composers take pride in a good cue, and although they cannot command John Williams salary, they can at least be happy about returning to another production/ providing a future score thus continuing the film making chain.

Bottom line: If you believe your project possess's a great story, solid acting, exciting editing, good special effects, and a balance of all the required elements that make a good film; why in the hell would you TRY and sync music that has zero connection to your project? Stock music stands out like a horribly sore thumb and really cheapens a project.