Short Film would greatly appreciate your comments

G

Gohanto

Hi, I'm a student filmmaker and I just completed a 7 minute short film "Journal" and would love to hear what people have to say about it.

http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~adonkle/index.htm

Any comments on what to improve would be appreciated.

Two notes on it, the sound was done in camera (currently working on buying a shotgun mic) and at the time of shooting I hadn't really thought about cinematography (just bought two lights and built a bounce card for my next film), so you'll notcie a few spots where those things show through.

Thanks,
Alex

Hey its pretty cool, good idea for a short film.

It almost feels as if it has a "butterfly effect" type feel to it, due to the journal and the minipulation of events with it. But good job was cool.

If you want some technical critiques on your production let me know, I'm more then happy to review the aesthetic aspect of the film.

btw, guy falling out of the window, grand, just grand lol

Mike

Thanks, yeah if you want to give whatever opinions you have on the films aesthics I'd be happy to hear them.
And you're the 3rd person to say it reminded them of Butterfly Effect, now I'm kind of curious to see that movie.

its because of the note book, you'll see when you see the note books in that movie.

OK!

Aesthetic crit time!
First I'd like to say if anyone ever tries and interpret your film into something it is not, kick them in the nuts. If its a chick, sleep with her, and leave her after sex, will hurt her in the nuts.

Alright now to crits on formal elements.

First thing that strikes me is how the sound of the narration comes in and out. Maybe if you were to leave some ambiance from the actual narration session to cover up the blank no sound section. There is sound, the piano is going but there's not diegetic sound... Anyway, something like that. I can tell it had noise in the BG when you were shooting the narration.