shooting film at 24fps, PAL telecine question

SNOOPYLEMANS

dear mr mullen,

i am an avid reader of your generous posts here and on the cinematography list, thank you for sharing so much of what you know. i am a young producer working in china, and such knowledge has been very helpful and encouraging to me.

here's the situation:
we are shooting 35mm film in china, and our editor is from the US. we've shot at 24fps, and our telecine is coming back on DV PAL at 25fps, our editor is working in Final Cut Pro, and we will be going back out to film at 24fps.

the question is regarding the telecine method: they are adding a frame every 24 seconds. our editor is skeptical about how this method will affect our film out.

is this a preferred or acceptable telecine method for our end use, which is film? will there issues on synching sound, working this way? should we consider having them redo the telecine?

thank you in advance for your help.
sincerely,
ays

You're not going to use a PAL transfer as the basis for a transfer to film, are you? Seems like a waste of quality if you spent the money to shoot on film. Unless this is a documentary with a lot of PAL video clips mixed into the footage.

Or are you talking about conforming the negative using the EDL from a PAL edit? I don't see a problem with that if you can correspond the time code to the keycode.

Anyway, if you are really talking about transferring a film-to-PAL telecine transfer to film using a film recorder -- with the hit in resolution that would cause -- it was probably a 1:1 transfer, i.e. the film was just sped-up to 25 fps when transferred, so each frame of film now is represented by one frame of video. So a transfer to film would also be 1:1, but the transfer would be projected at 24 fps. So there is no real problem with the speed of the footage. The only problem is the sound, which if cut in PAL, will have to be speed and pitch-adjusted to convert to 24 fps.