QUESTION about filming on private locations?

T

thenewbeat76

I'm new to film making and I have a big interest in making independent films but there is only so much I can shot in and out of my home. But what I want to know is how do people get access to shooting on private property rather it be in a grocery store or a hospital? If it is just simply by asking the owner or manager, how do you approach someone about it. And if its aloud, are you allowed to show copyrighted material like signs that say Wal-mart? Its just a couple questions that i would really like to know because i want to really get serious about film making. So if anyone knows the answer to any of these questions please let me know.

Hi

Well, the easiest way to get a permittion is to contact the person in charche for the location; eg the wall-mart manager, head doctor of the clinique, etc.
Shake his/her hand and explain that you don't have much money and that the shooting won't take more than so and so time.
You will leave the location in the same condition as it was when you came, and promise to send him/her a dvd.

Don't know about the copyrighted signs. Guess that depends on how big a movie you're making.

Some places if your not shooting when their open , you could probably just go to as long as your shooting exterior stuff and no one would have a problem.

heya.