Production Journal, Low Budget- James Brown "OFF"

A

Agenda Productions

Hi,

I thought I would post some stills from a short we a are filming ‘OFF’ This is as low budget as low budget gets, all the equipment is from school and director didn’t want to by any extra gels or diffusion and didn’t feel the need for the hiring of any lights.

Despite the limitations I thought I would show you the set-ups that we did with very limited time with very limited resources. I really would love to hear some comments on how you would have done these set-ups, I am in second year of studies but seem to be trying to self teach myself the art of cinematography as our school doesn’t focus on it anywhere near enough.

Our lighting kit was Blondie 2k, 3x1k’s, Dido150watta (all 3200K) CTO & CTB gels, spun and a reflector. The camera was JVC DV500

Friday
Our first set up was the worst thing I have ever lit and hopefully will never have to shoot in such an ugly location in my career. We were plagued by 360 degree complete shinny metal, fluorescents all over the roof (that we couldn’t turn off), very limiting time restraints and a restless crew. Luckily I did not take any photo’s of our set-up as I would not be welcome in this forum any longer.

Saturday
This morning we shot at a really classy restaurant and we were restricted by only allowing four crew members and the two actors because of the owners. We had two hours to set-up shoot 4 set-ups pack up and leave, easy? First of all I set up two redheads with CTO gels to give it some overall warm ambience. With those two in place I got another 1k diffused it and bounced it off the gold side of a reflector just above there heads, this looked nice and to add I got the 150watt double diffused to put some fill on the actress face.
The digi-shots make it look very bright but it was quite dark, im not actually sure what stop we had it at.
two-shot-restaurant.gif

(The sound guy posing for a shot of the set-up)
Ali-with-reflector.gif