new tv series

parri

hi sir

i am a DP from india and i had a few questions regarding a new show i am doing in a few days ...

its a television series based on the film "the princess diaries"..a kind of ugly duckling story ..
i am shooting in beta and wanted to knwo how to make it look like film ...also the pallette we are looking at is more like that of SEX AND THE CITY and ALLY Mc.BEAL...
I want to mak it look like film as much as possible ...
so wanted to know about filtratations ,production design tips , and any other secrets of the trade that could help me achieve that ...
please help me out with your valuable suggestions ..
regards

parri

filmbuff_in@yahoo.com
filmcine@rediffmail.com

Dear Parri:

As I have had no experience with electronic movie making, I'm affraid the only answers I can give you are guesses and must be taken with a grain of salt. I suggest that you experiment and test different techniques before using them. For example, in order to achieve a certain look with the use of filters, even with film, I always made tests before picking the final selections of filters or other equipment. Do the same thing with the Beta camera. I know that electronic equipment wil give results that are different from film because of the inherent characteristics of the equipment. You might want to contact Jon Fauer ASC who has written several books on the subject and is a recognized expert in this topic. Don't hesitate to mention my name when you contact Mr. Fauer.

You might also want to visit my website, www.andrewlaszlo.com and check out my books on filmmaking.

Sorry to so late in replying.

Kind regards

Andrew Laszlo

thanks

thanks

dear mr.laszlo
ofcourse i have read your books ...and thanks a lot for the advice..i have done a few tests and the series is on ..people here quite lilke the product.
will stay in touch with you .
thanks again
regards
parri