My Favourite female filmmakers

Swati Panda

Recently I realised there are many awesome female filmmakers who have not received that publicity that they deserve. Being a female filmmaker myself I know how tough it is to break prejudices of the society and become successful in a field which has very less female representation. So I want to praise and applaud their courage as they have inspired me a lot. Most beautiful thing about their cinema is the female gaze they present and the subtleness, deep love, warmth and empathy in their work.
1. Céline Sciamma - A portrait of a Lady on Fire-- This movie just swept me with it's beauty. I watched one of her speech online where she speaks about how to think about screenwriting. Its amazing.
2. Callie Khouri- Thelma and Louise(screenwriter)
3. Katherine Bigelow
4. Chloe Zhao--Nomadland
5. Julie Taymor -- The Tempest
6. Sofia Ford Coppola
7. Sally Potter- Orlando
8. Mira Nair--Monsoon Wedding
9. Aparna Sen - Mr and Mrs Iyer, 36 Chowringee Lane
10. Agnes Varda -Cleo From 5 to 7
I am sure there are many many more awesome female filmmakers. Just listening to their interviews and knowing how they think or how they reached such a high level is inspiring enough. I think we should spread their name more and congratulate them.

I am happy you opened this topic!
I enjoyed watching the movie Joy. The story was written by Annie Mumolo. She is the Academy Award-nominated screenwriter of the blockbuster feature Bridesmaids. The story also tells the struggle of a female character that eventually managed to become a successful businesswoman.
The popular movie, the Matrix, was also directed and written by two sisters: Lilly Wachowski and Lana Wachowski.

I am happy you opened this topic!