movie company

C

Casanova04

i am an aspiring filmmaker. I recently finished a film and I was wondering what I would have to do to start my own film company

Maybe what Temerson said was best, but I'll through this out. My friend and I have been making films together for quite a while, its true we've never gotten an attorney or anything, but I think, from my perspective that its better to just make up a name for your company and attach it to anywork you do. That way when you send it to film fests or whatever, you get your company name out there. That's the indy way that I know of. Don't know if its the best but that's how I sort of work.

In all honesty... all it takes is to print a business card... though the whole incorporation thing is nice & official... the costs can be up there in the end.

its better to just make up a name for your company and attach it to anywork you do

However, it's probably a good idea to make sure there isn't a real company of that name before you do so :). The name I wanted to use was already registered (though dormant) here in the UK, so I had to choose another one.

Also, if it's anything like this country I presume a company would give you more benefits, like limited personal liability if it goes bankrupt. Since I'm not making expensive movies I decided the costs weren't worth it, but if someone gave me a million dollars tomorrow to make a movie I'd definitely want to set up a company to handle it officially. I own the web domain, so I presume that if anyone ever sets up a company of the same name for real I'll hear from them pretty soon :).

Incorporating is an option, but what Mark G says is correct. You don't have to become a Inc. company, as here in the states you can do a LLC, or limited liability company which is cheaper. You get all the benefits of a regular Inc. company, and half the paper work and hassles. I believe it cost me about $375 to pay the lawyers fees and the incorporation.