I'm thinking of getting into film, guys, but....

Aznburninator

Hey, this is my first post here, so my bad if I don't introduce myself properly ;)

I'm a high school student going into senior year. I already have to look into the future and stuff, and right now I have 2 end results in mind. Either I take my dad's advice and become a doctor, or I follow this passion of mine and become a filmmaker. I would go for the latter indefinitely, except I... don't really have much film experience. The most serious thing I've done relating to film was entering the Apple Insomnia Film Festival. I've done short videos on Youtube, but I doubt they're any good at all. You can visit my homepage to see them. Anyway, I want to get a good start and see if film really is for me. After all, if it really is worth going for, I should know what is ahead for me.

Anyone have any suggestions or ideas for me to officially make my start as a filmmaker?

Last edited:
Write a script no matter how bad, or how short, film it, edit it, show it to family & friends and get feedback good or bad, take advice and roll with it and repeat.

The best advice I can give.

Only you will know what the best decision is to make. If you really want to be a filmmaker, you can do that no matter which path you choose. That means you can either choose to only be a filmmaker and scrap the doctor thing OR you can be a doctor AND a filmmaker. The most important thing is which path you want to take. If you become a doctor, chances are that you surely won't have to raise a lot of funds to make your projects because there will be money coming in from your great salary in the medical field to fund your movies.