How can I increase the clarity of the sound in my videos?

juliadoyle

I am having trouble increasing the quality of my sound in the videos I film. I am working on a very low budget because I am a student, I use mostly an iphone and a lavallier. This doesn’t seem to be enough. I know that pros use special gear to separately film (or purchase) background sounds such as steps, wind etc. I would want to try and record some of it myself with my gear. Also, when people speak in my videos, their voice is not so clear if I film outside and there is traffic.

Any advice?

You could try looking for free libraries online with foliage. Unless you have professional gear, it would be very difficult to record quality foliage with just a lav. As for the background noise, try re-recording the audio in a quiet environment. It would be difficult because the original audio would have to match the recorded one in timing and lipsync.

There si no "easy fix" on a low budget. You have to work with what you have.
You have to avoid background noise such as traffic, wind or kids screaming and playing. Try filming at early hours, when most people are asleep.
As for foliage...just as Robert suggested, you should look for it online. There are some free libraries that you could use.
You can also try and film crowded places and add a voice over. This could work for a documentary or just to illustrate the "thoughts" of your characters. Rather than having them speak in those areas, you can film them in those areas and add a voice over.

Hi Julia. I edit audio on RX9 and 7 by izotope. RX the top audio editor in the market. The music and SFX for my videos and audio post production project come from Arlist.io. The subscription is 14 dollars a month and the quality is great. There are other websites and also some free ones like FREESXF.co.uk. Recording foley with that mic doesn't look good.