Cinema or Convenience?

kennethhansen11

Dear filmmakers.

I'm currently in a big dilemma and can't choose between which camera to get.

I'm a solo filmmaker shooting mostly handheld run and gun stuff and sometimes do small to medium sized setups. 95% of the time it's only me beeing the producer, director, cinematographer, gaffer etc. I currently rent cinema cameras for my productions and i own a A7iii which i almost never use - but i'm tired of renting so i want to invest in a camera.

I've been looking for a new camera for months now. My first thought was a RED Komodo (which is my realistic dream camera) - but it costs around $8.000 here in Sweden + $2.000 for accessories. Then i looked for some cheaper "cinema" cameras and found the BMPCC 6K Pro ($2.700). I've also looked into the FX3 ($5.000) but i ended up buying the Pocket 6KPro. I just received the camera a few days ago and i'm not sure if i made the right choice. The first thing that made me question it was the micro jitters when shooting handheld - which is a big problem for me. So i'll have to rig it out to make it usable.

I'm considering selling the 6KPro and going for a FX3 now. My thought is that if i go for the FX3 which is much more convinient then i can focus on the more important stuff instead of dealing with "small" stuff like manual focusing. Stuff like being able to get a quick shot outside when it's dark because of the FX3s amazing lowlight, instead of having to think about renting lighting gear and setting them up because the 6KPro has very bad lowlight. Stuff like being able to pull the FX3 out of my camera bag very quickly while walking through the city and getting a shot instead of having to pull the 6KPro out and screw all the rigging parts together. Stuff like being able to throw the FX3 on a gimbal without having to setup some kind of follow focus or automatic focus rig on the 6KPro.