calling freelance film makers, student needs your help!

Vikki

hello everyone, noob vikki here, im a 3rd year uni student i the uk and need some help off the freelancers out there,, i need to gather your opinions on the profession to give me a better idea of what to expect when i leave uni, bit scared to be honest!

thanx so much if u have the time to answer any or all of these questions!!

1 - Do you enjoy freelancing?

2 - Which Method did you secure your last project (portfolio, word of mouth, friends, interview) was the most common method?

3- Is it really as fast paced and stressful as everyone tells me? If so, How do you deal with this?

4 - Does the pay match the hour, is it worth it economically, or if the pay isn’t great do the creative rewards make up for it?

5 - What’s the worst project you’ve ever been involved with?

6 - What was the hardest project you were ever involved with that came through in the end, what’s the worst the job can be like basically?

7 - Any advice for a new starter?

thankyou!

1- Yes, very much, best career I've ever had!

2- My sisters run the plant, so, duh, I was hired for the project. But yeah, word of mouth is the most common way you get work in any field. Film/video is no different.

3- Yes and no, each project is different. But most are on impossible deadlines the client demands of you, so, mostly, you are pushing yourself to do more each day. How do I deal with the stress? I drink a lot of Jim Beam. But seriously, you have to be able to manage your stress well. I fly stunt kites, fish, spend time on the water, etc. If you can't handle stress, and major assholes you have to be polite to, this business will kill you.