Aspiring Film Composer Seeking Long-Term Connections/Projects :)

Todd Dunken II

I am so thrilled to have come across this community! My name is Todd Dunken II, but feel free to call me TJ! I have been composing semi-professionally since 2018. That is when I started studying with Dr. David D. McIntire, Dr. Frank F Nawrot, and Dr. David W Brewer. Initially I wanted to compose contemporary SSAATTBB or TTBB choral literature since my background is as a vocalist. However, as the composition assignments were more structured for Band, Orchestra, and Tech I grew fascinated with the unfamiliar.

Thanks to my time at Missouri Western State University I became deeply involved in the Music Theory/Music Tech programs where I developed deep and meaningful connections with other Musicians. I do value the connections I made with my peers and fellow composer, however, if I want to work on anything film-related I must admit; it is unlikely a fellow composer will give me a "Job".

I have worked on a few student films before for the Griffon Film Society. A friend of mine (Devin) is still at Missouri Western State University, and anytime he has a project that needs ANY amount of scoring he comes directly to me. I have personally scored three of his short films and I am currently working on his Thesis at the moment! This experience has been great, but rather limited. I have searched many different avenues for more experience in film scoring, but it is proven to be difficult. Missouri Western State University does not necessarily have the largest film department. In fact, the film department only produces about six-eight student films a semester, most of which use Epidemic Sounds for the soundtrack.