Advise on how I can film using a fire arm prop without getting arrested (UK)

roryrocker13

Hey, I was hoping maybe some of you on this forum could help me out. So for some of my film course as a student I had to write a couple of scripts and without going into much detail I had to do one involving horror. Well I chose a post apocalyptic environment and so it involves the use of weapons (as I am sure most post apocalyptic films do) and as it was just recently results day I thought about it and decided it might be a good idea to film one of my drafts for the script. Now its a very interesting subject for me when using gun props as one of my hobbies actually includes using 1:1 scale imitation guns in a similar fashion to paintball. Its more complicated than that but I don't want to go into details, and may I add that it requires licences and you need a valid defense to own some of these so its nothing dodgy I 100% legitimately own the Props.

However my real problem comes when I want to try and film. I think more obvious than not my back garden is not a option and I don't know anyone who owns a large quantity of land. With the threat of terrorists all in the news I don't think it would be the best of ideas to walk to my local park with a gun that looks like something out of the latest action movie so I was wondering. Does anyone know how you begin to get permission to shoot footage using gun props legally in the UK? Or am I going to have to adapt my script. I was hopping maybe I could green screen some things in but I feel like it would come out looking super cheesy not to mention this is just a project for fun and completely non professional or non profit with literally 0 budget.